My (short-ish) Story

linkedinpicI’m a 20-something living in North Carolina. I was born in California and spent the first two years of my life in Orange County. I spent the next year of my life in Rhode Island and then I was raised in New Hampshire for the rest of my adolescent years.

I went to Central Catholic High School in Lawrence, Massachusetts, which was about 25 minutes from my home. I was a two-sport high school athlete, earning conference All-Star honors for the Varsity Football team as a senior and I was a proud spot-starter-but-mostly-1st-base-coach-slash-clipboard-holder for the Varsity Baseball team. I also played two years of JV Hockey and a year of JV Indoor Track. I graduated from high school in May 2010. I went to college at Arizona State University, where I earned a degree from the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication with cum laude honors in May 2014.

After college, I took a job with my Fraternity, Delta Sigma Phi, in Indianapolis, Indiana. As an undergraduate, I was recruited as a Founding Father for the Beta Psi chapter at Arizona State University. Delta Sig is largely responsible for the best years of my undergraduate experience (and probably the most enjoyable years of my life.) Because I believed so strongly in Delta Sig and it’s mission to provide an “atypical fraternity experience,” I felt like it was my duty to pay the debt back to the organization that gave so much to me. My official title was “New Chapter Development Coordinator” (basically, I started new chapters of my Fraternity all across the country from scratch in about six weeks.) Though I cherished the year that I worked for Delta Sig, I yearned to return to the Valley of the Sun. In May 2015, I left Delta Sigma Phi and Indianapolis to return to Arizona.

During my one year return to the Valley of the Sun, I endured my version of the “quarter-life crisis.” I took a job at a call center and I pretty much hated every second of it. It was during my time there that I had my first panic attack. I looked around the room and thought to myself, “What am I doing with my life?” I lasted about four months there. I then took a job as an Account Executive at an email marketing company (AKA: over-the-phone inside salesman.) I lasted about two weeks at that job and to this day it is the only job I ever quit without a two weeks notice. Look, a sales career can be very lucrative and the product I was (unsuccessfully) trying to sell was super legitimate…but it takes a certain type of person to survive and thrive in sales and I am just not one of them. After I left that job, I swallowed my pride and called up my folks in October 2015 and told them I needed to come home to North Carolina and live with them. I told them I planned to save up money, get a serving job, and then go to an in-state graduate school. I had my new five year plan. The parents were awesome and said they’d love for me to come home.

I moved back in with my family in North Carolina in May 2016 and quickly landed a job at a nearby country club as a bartender and server. Quick side-note: in July of 2012, my family moved from Windham, New Hampshire to Morrisiville, North Carolina. Anyway, from May 2016 to August 2017, I researched my graduate school options. I have a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism and Mass Communication and I very seriously considered getting a Masters Degree in Exercise Science. During the fall of 2017, I even took my first pre-requisite class at the local community college. However, it was during that time that I realized I really wanted to give my degree another shot and go find something out there that I really like doing.

So, for now, I sling Jack and Cokes, take hip-hop classes, play some co-ed flag football, do some hot yoga, lift some weights, run, and explore the Raleigh, North Carolina area. I’m on a mission to better myself everyday and the journey of my life is something that I’m embracing. I hope you enjoy the stories of my progress.